The Nunn-Lugar Award was established in 2012 in honor of U.S. Senators Sam Nunn and Richard Lugar, who were also the award’s first recipients. The Carnegie Endowment for International Peace and Carnegie Corporation of New York created the award to recognize an individual or institution whose work has helped strengthen global security and further peaceful co-existence among nations by preventing the proliferation of nuclear weapons and reducing the risk of their use. The award is a tribute to Andrew Carnegie, who dedicated much of his philanthropy to the goal of achieving world peace. 

Made possible by the Netherlands Ministry of Foreign Affairs.