The 2017 Thérèse Delpech Memorial Award was presented to Catherine McArdle Kelleher.

The award is offered every other year to an individual who has rendered exceptional service to the nongovernmental nuclear policy community. While exceptional service includes major intellectual contributions to critical debates, it also encompasses the time-consuming and often unrecognized work needed to sustain and strengthen our community: mentoring young women and men, constructively critiquing the work of others, creating fora for discussion, and building networks. Such activities benefit the community as a whole in its efforts to reduce nuclear dangers. Importantly, the award is also intended to recognize individuals who, through friendship, collegiality, and respect, help mold a collection of individual researchers into a community worthy of the name.

In short, the award recognizes exceptional creativity, integrity, humanity, and amity—four qualities embodied by Thérèse Delpech, a long-time strategic adviser to the French Atomic Energy Commission, an author, and a distinguished public intellectual. Thérèse passed away in January 2012; as we planned our 2013 conference we realized that she would be sorely missed, and that one way to celebrate her life would be to establish an award in her name.

Previous winners of the award are Michael Krepon (2015) and Amb. Linton F. Brooks (2013).

The 2017 award was decided by an adjudication panel consisting of two Carnegie staff members and three external experts. Except for members of this panel and current employees of the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, anyone involved in nuclear policy anywhere in the world is eligible for the award.

The award was presented at the 2017 Carnegie International Nuclear Policy Conference.