As the Middle East, North Africa, and Central Asia continue to cope with the dual shocks of the COVID-19 pandemic and the volatility in oil prices, the Dubai International Financial Centre, Carnegie Middle East Center, and International Monetary Fund are organizing a live virtual panel to discuss the key challenges, policy priorities, and opportunities for recovery based on the IMF’s recent MENA Regional Economic Outlook update.

The event will be held in English on Thursday, July 16 on the Carnegie Middle East Center’s YouTube channel here. Live interpretation to Arabic will also be available here. Viewers may submit their questions using the live chat feature on YouTube during the livestream. For more information, please contact Alex Müller at alexander.muller@carnegie-mec.org

SPEAKERS

Jihad Azour is the director of the IMF’s Middle East and Central Asia Department.

Dame Minouche Shafik is the director of the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE); former deputy governor of the Bank of England; former deputy managing director at the IMF; and former vice president at the World Bank.

Marwan Muasher is the vice president for studies at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace and a former deputy prime minister and foreign minister of Jordan.

Monica Malik is the chief economist at Abu Dhabi Commercial Bank; former chief economist at EFG Hermes; former senior economist for the MENA region at Standard Chartered, Dubai; and former senior economist at Dun & Bradstreet, London.

MODERATOR

Mina Al-Oraibi is the editor-in-chief of The National newspaper with over 18 years of experience in covering the Middle East, Europe, and the United States.

EVENT TIMINGS

Washington (EDT): 7:00-8:30 a.m.

London (BST): 12:00-1:30 p.m.

Brussels (CEST): 1:00-2:30 p.m.

Beirut (EEST): 2:00-3:30 p.m.

Abu Dhabi (GST): 3:00-4:30 p.m.