As the first event in a series of workshops on research exploring information operations, the Partnership for Countering Influence Operations and Twitter invite you to back-to-back panels featuring expert speakers. This session will feature two keynote panels outlining the central problems and issues with information operations.

In 2018, Twitter first released a large archive of tweets and media from Russian and Iranian troll farms. This archive of information operations (IO) has since been expanded to include activity originating from more than 15 countries. Totalling more than 54,000 accounts, 160 million tweets, and over 8 TB of images, GIFs, videos, and Periscope broadcasts, the dataset is extensive and offers researchers unique insight into how IO unfolds on the service. For more on the datasets, visit Twitter’s public archive.

This event launches a wider series of workshops centered on a call for proposals from the research community. Learn more about the project and the submission process here.

Register to receive log in instructions. For event questions contact iopartnership@ceip.org

Register here

Agenda

10:00 a.m. PT / 1:00 p.m. ET / 7:00 p.m. CET

What Have We Learned from IO Data So Far?

Speakers: Graham Brookie, Ben Nimmo, Martin Innes, Kate Starbird

Moderator: James Pamment

11:30 a.m. PT / 2:30 p.m. ET / 8:30 p.m. CET

What Should We Do About IO Moving Forward?

Speakers: Renee DiResta, Camille François, Dhiraj Murthy, Jake Shapiro, Jake Wallis 

Participants

Graham Brookie is the director and managing editor of the Atlantic Council’s Digital Forensics Research Lab.

Ben Nimmo is head of investigations at Graphika and a nonresident senior fellow at the Atlantic Council’s Digital Forensics Research Lab.

Martin Innes is director of the Crime and Security Research Institute, director of the Universities’ Police Science Institute, and a professor in the School of Social Sciences at Cardiff University.

Kate Starbird is an associate professor in the Department of Human Centered Design and Engineering at the University of Washington and director of the Emerging Capacities of Mass Participation Laboratory.

Renée DiResta is the research manager at the Stanford Internet Observatory, housed at Stanford’s Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies.

Camille François is the chief innovation officer at Graphika and works on cyber conflict and digital rights online.

Dhiraj Murthy is an associate professor of journalism and sociology at the University of Texas at Austin. He was previously reader of sociology at Goldsmiths, University of London. His research explores social media, digital research methods, race/ethnicity, qualitative/mixed methods, big data quantitative analysis, and virtual organizations

Jake Shapiro is professor of politics and international affairs at Princeton University and the director of the Empirical Studies of Conflict Project.

Jacob Wallis is a senior analyst at the Australian Strategic Policy Institute’s Cyber Policy Centre.

James Pamment is a nonresident scholar in the Technology and International Affairs Program at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace and co-director of the Partnership for Countering Influence Operations.